RSS Feed

Day 1: Resisting Temptation

Day 1 of the Paleo Challenge went pretty well, all things considered. I wish I could have started out my day with CrossFit, but my body did NOT want to get up at 6 a.m. after getting home late last night from the Sara Bareilles concert and running a 5K yesterday morning. The extra sleep was nice and sleep is an important part of the Paleo lifestyle so I wasn’t too hard on myself. I’ll be back in the gym tomorrow.

Now as for the food! Today was not the easiest of days to start the challenge, because of A) all of the free food (read: CARBS) that I was surrounded with at work, and B) a “sushi” date with my little to use a Groupon. But with lots of self-control and encouragement… I made it!

Breakfast was easy: Greek yogurt with cantaloupe and strawberries. (Note: I didn’t eat the sugary fruit jelly stuff that comes on the side of Fage… even though it was awesome Mango Guanabana)

Starting off the day with greek yogurt (high in protein!) & fruit

Lunch was pretty simple, too, since I had spent about 15 minutes making it the night before! I love salads with tons of different veggies, so I labored over dicing several different kinds: cucumbers, tomatoes, yellow peppers, carrots, with some pumpkin seeds and 2 hard-boiled eggs. As you can see in the background, I added light balsamic vinaigrette, which is not exactly a Paleo-approved dressing (since it has some sugar and salt and preservatives) but once I finish this bottle, I’ll make my own olive oil & vinegar dressing.

I only eat salads that look like a rainbow, clearly

After lunch, I was alerted by co-workers of all sorts of delicious lunch foods that were leftover from a meeting. Sandwiches, cookies, chips… etc. I went to check out the scene with Paula, since I heard there were pickles involved. I proudly resisted the carbs and ate 3 pickles instead. I knew I could prove to myself that I didn’t need a sandwich, especially after my filling salad!

She was not trying to tempt me; I asked her to show me the sandwich so I could practice self-control πŸ™‚

Of course, that wasn’t the end of the temptation. When 2 p.m. rolled around, we had a staff meeting to celebrate all of the 5, 10, 15, and 20 years of service that some employees were celebrating. Let’s just say there was a HUGE German chocolate cake involved and I had to sit in a room for 30 minutes while watching (almost) everyone consume it. But, I had gum (probably non-Paleo, I’ll address this later) to save me… thank you Extra Spearmint!

Dinner: This was a long-awaited meal, since Lia and I were planning on going to Kushi to use my Groupon for $50! I knew this would be difficult, since sushi is my #1 favorite food… obviously the sushi rolls with RICE, which I could not eat. So we decided to be adventurous and try some sashimi and a whole bunch of other small dishes from the menu! It ended up being amazing, and I was so happy I had my sushi-partner-in-crime to experiment with. Obviously, the meal was not perfectly-paleo, like some of the flavorings on the salmon and chicken and the dressings (and the sodium-laden soy sauce) BUT the food itself was paleo and the “additives” were not really that bad… so not much to feel guilty about.

Salad with ginger dressing (so fresh!)

My first time eating sashimi -- can't believe it took so long to try it! Tuna & Amberjack/Hiramasa, a "king yellowtail"

Our small plates: grilled asparagus, eggplant & squid, and chicken on a stick

salmon

Salmon fillet

Let’s just say we were happily full after this meal. I would definitely go back– mostly for the sashimi. The fish was just SO fresh, and they told us they get it daily. Great service, too.

I was glad I survived my first “eating out” paleo experience. I know there will be more of these situations and I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to select the best options. This isn’t to say I won’t have one or two “cheat days” throughout the next month, because no one is perfect, but I am prepared to take on the challenges of paleo living, even when there are other, more tempting options in front of me.

When I got home from dinner, I couldn’t help but notice a sweet tooth. So, I went with my paleo-approved “desserts” — a glass of unsweetened almond milk, a few macadamia nuts, and 1 piece of dried fruit.

I am pretty relieved I survived day 1 without caving in. Thank you to everyone who has been encouraging thus far, it really does help. Something tells me this is going to be a long month. BRING IT PALEO.

3 responses »

  1. You need to take me to Kushi!

    Reply
  2. That looks AMAZING. sashimi is yummy πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

