RSS Feed

Day 4: I’m hungry

Day 4 started off great! I had extra time in the morning, so I decided to cook breakfast— what a concept. Wish I could afford to do this every day. I made 2 scrambled eggs with spinach, and a side of 1/2 avocado and some tomato. Kept me full for the whole morning, but I did snack on some berries when I got to work. Berries (any and all) are my favorite fruit and happen to be the ones recommended for paleos!

Stoplight colors! And notice the real tomatoes instead of my beloved ketchup.

Lunch was leftovers. The cajun chicken with broccoli, cauliflower, onions, and butternut squash. Not going to lie, I’m starting to get tired of the chicken. I’ve had it for 4 meals within 3 days, and just a month ago I was probably only eating it 1-2 times a week total!

Fact: leftovers can be delicious.

I also had some carrot sticks with lunch, and then finished off my berries with a banana in the afternoon. And then, out of no where, I was STARVING around 4-5 p.m. Maybe it had to do with the GIANT brownies that were paraded past my desk (don’t worry I stayed strong). Whatever the cause of said hunger, I went to CrossFit still feeling like I could eat ANYthing that was put in front of me. Good thing the closest thing to food was my notebook.

Of course, once we got into the workout, I had other things on my mind, like oh, I don’t know, trying to hold planks for a minute in between squats, kettle bell swings, pushups, and burpees…then sprinting up hills, and the like. I almost forgot that I had a very exciting dinner (or several dinners to choose from) waiting for me after class!

I am participating in a “Beta Test” Paleo meal program. 3 meals a day, 3 times a week I get meals prepared by a professional chef! The cost of the meals is reduced quite a bit, and all I have to do is pick them up at the gym, and heat them up when I want them. Next Monday is the official start of the program, but tonight I had 3 free meals to take home!

Yay prepared food by a professional chef!

At the front is curry chicken breast with massaged kale and mango salad. In the middle is grilled salmon with savory strawberry coulis and sauteed seasoned mixed greens. And in the back is an open-faced grass-fed beef burger served over a grilled portabella mushroom cap and topped with caramelized onions and served with a tangy slaw. Which one do you think I chose??

I picked the salmon! And it was SO GOOD. Perfectly cooked and just the right amount of flavor. I was probably supposed to heat up the coulis, but I just sorta poured it on top after the salmon was warm. The mixed green leaves were good, but the roots (I don’t actually know if it’s called a ‘root,’ but it was the lighter part of the green) were a little tough. While the salmon was heating up on the stove (remember I don’t have a microwave) I definitely ate the entire tangy slaw and portabella (yes, cold)…both were delicious. I was also really curious to try the burger since I haven’t eaten red meet in a long time. So I heated up a tiny bite of it. It tasted good and since it was only 1 bite I knew I wouldn’t react unfavorably to it. Maybe if I am feeling adventurous, I will try 2 bites tomorrow! I am really excited to have the curried chicken for lunch tomorrow, since it’s a new flavor I haven’t tried on chicken yet.

Epic moment: Jaclyn eats red meat. (Harris, are you proud of me?!)

3 responses »

  1. Maybe you should try warming up IN the oven? And finally a picture of the CrossFitFoodie!

    Reply
  2. good idea mom 🙂 I’ll try that next time!

    Reply
  3. Maybe I should stop reading your blogs early in the morning. All of the food pictures look delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

