RSS Feed

Day 8: Muffin tops? More like stud muffins.

Happy Monday! I can’t believe I started this journey one week ago. That means I am officially 1/4 of the way done with the 30 day challenge. As of now, I’m really hoping to keep at least some aspects of the paleo diet as part of my lifestyle. I have been feeling great and noticing small changes– more energy in the mornings, less cravings in the afternoons, and maybe even a couple pounds! I’m not taking precise measurements, but I’m pretty in tune with my body so hopefully at the end of the 30 days I’ll see more noticeable changes.

Started off the day with a fun (read: grueling fun, in the best possible way) CrossFit class at the playground. Breakfast afterward consisted of 1/2 banana, Greek yogurt, and berries! I decided to up fat content of the yogurt from 0% to 2%, but I can’t really taste the difference anyways. (Did you know that full-fat dairy foods are actually really important to absorbing all the nutrients? I’ve read a bit about this, but I’m no expert so maybe I’ll touch on protective fats later on.) I love Fage, but I think next time I’m at the store I’ll try the plain Chobani and Skyr.is, recommended by Becky.

Nothing you haven't already seen, but yogurt and berries like the camera, okay?

For lunch I had a small spinach salad with veggies, followed by a chef-prepared meal! Rosemary and garlic pastured chicken breast with a sauteed mixed green medley- my mouth was watering before I even heated it up.

Two thumbs up! I think I'm getting used to the plethora of chicken in my diet.

I was even more excited about dinner since I had bought halibut yesterday! I followed the directions on the label: brush with olive oil, season with spices (I chose cajun), wrap in aluminum foil, and bake at 350 for 25 minutes. The end result was delish! I also added some peppers to the foil.

Taking a peak to see if it was done... the foil held in all the juices wonderfully!

Cajun red pepper halibut with a side of squash and zucchini. Don't pretend you're surprised by the colors.

And then, it was time for my baking adventure! I chose a recipe for Paleo Apple Muffins from the wonderful Everday Paleo blog. I actually ordered this cookbook and entered into a giveaway contest on the blog! The recipe was really simple, but used several ingredients that I had never used before. I was just excited to eat “muffins” even if they didn’t taste like regular muffins.

Chopping an apple into tiny pieces is a great workout..not as good as CrossFit obviously

Ingredients pre-mixing. Yes there are 4 eggs and that is lump of coconut oil in the middle.

For once, I actually resisted licking the batter!

Lookin' good stud muffins πŸ˜‰

The only thing I added to the recipe was a few chopped pecans to the top of the muffins. (Hi, I’m Jaclyn and I’m addicted to nuts.) Unfortunately, some of them stuck in the pan despite the coconut oil I greased the pan with. Fortunately, this meant I got to eat the scraps (along with a whole muffin or two) that got left behind! Overall, they had a great texture and tasted good… definitely not sweet at all, but the flavor of cinnamon with the crunch of the apple pieces was enjoyable πŸ™‚ The real test will be bringing them to my CrossFit class. I definitely would not expect a non-paleo person to find these delicious, but for me they passed the test. If you’re looking for amazing, mouth-watering desserts, you’re on the wrong blog– those would be found on my roommate’s baking blog! Flour, Sugar, Salt. (She had this blog long before she knew I’d be giving up those 3 ingredients and more for a month!)

13 responses »

  1. The muffins were delicious! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. I WANT TO TASTE ONE! They look really yummy.

    Reply
  3. The fish looks amazing! I definitely am getting inspired by you. I bought a healthy nut mix the other day to snack on, instead of goldfish….baby steps for me.

    Reply
  4. jaclyn… i know you are cutting out a lot of sugar… but have you considered raw honey? i use it in ‘paleo baking’ to add just a hint of sweetness. whole foods has a brand of completely unprocessed honey (http://www.reallyrawhoney.com/)

    it’s delicious! Not to be used in massive quantities of course… but in small doses it’s great πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Also… have you ever had baba ghannouj? if/when you get bored of snacking on raw veggies… try this simple eggplant dip. easy to make… but asmar’s brand is reallly yummy.

    πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Hi Jaclyn
    My first reply post on a blog!!
    You are doing an awesome job with all your posts. I enjoy reading them, love the humor. And the food… it all looks so good. I am very proud that you are sticking to this “project” (I know you don’t like the word diet”). So I have sent you a little gift to help spur you on with CrossFit. Hope you like it!!
    Sandi

    Reply
  7. I want all the food…

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Days 26 & 27: Grillin It Up, Paleo Style! « TheCrossFitFoodie

Leave a Reply

