RSS Feed

Days 12 and 13: Take me out to the ball game! (minus the peanuts & cracker jacks)

Well, we’re halfway into the weekend and I’m still holding strong on Paleo. Yipee! So far, the weekend has been fun and productive. After work on Friday, I headed to my first Nationals game of the season with some APO family. Even though it wasn’t a Yankee game, I love baseball and just the experience of going to a game… even when it doesn’t involve peanuts, or cracker jacks, or hot dogs, or beer…or any stadium food. Which is why I brought (snuck) my own dinner into the stadium! I had a bread-less turkey sandwich (topped with lettuce, tomatoes, peppers and onions) and a side of fruit salad. It was perfect.

My #2 baseball team

Sadly I did not partake in the stadium food indulging

Typical big/little picture ❤

The Nats beat the Brewers 4-3 in the 10th inning. (Although we left around the 8th since it was so cold) Can’t wait to go back to more games in the summer when it’s warmer! When I got home, I heated up some almond milk with cinnamon to warm me up. Yum.

The fam! Does anyone see what I see? The Yankees may not have been playing, but they had more than a few fans in the crowd 😉

Warm almond milk is perfect for drinking in bed

I woke up this morning to a crazy rainstorm and decided why not venture out to the grocery store? I figured it would be less crowded than usual… and I was right! I was excited to do most of my weekend shopping at Trader Joe’s– they have the best prices, food, and the employees are always friendly.

Navigating the aisles at Trader Joes with my handy dandy shopping list

I ended up buying a TON of food, since last week I ran out of lunch supplies mid-week. I’ll have to put more time into making lunches this week, but it’ll be worth it. I got 90% of what I wanted to buy at TJ’s so I’ll probably make one stop at Safeway or Whole Foods tomorrow to pick up a few last things.

Most (but not all) of the lovely produce I bought at TJs!

After the grocery store, I decided I needed some physical activity, despite super sore muscles and the ongoing rainstorm (with tornado warnings) that made me want to crawl back into bed. My body definitely took a beating from 4 days of CF this week. I went to the gym to do an easy 30 minute elliptical and foam rolling then went to the pool for a short swim and hydrotherapy pool session. All in all, a good recovery day.

I was starving (my notion of “starving” has actually become less intense since I started Paleo) after the pool since all I had for breakfast was a banana, some almond butter, and nuts. So I decided to cook up some eggs, veggies, and a chicken sausage. With a side of avocado and fresh salsa from TJ’s! Who needs eggs dipped in ketchup when you have fresh salsa? I added some almond milk to the eggs to make them fluffy… perfection.

Mid-afternoon lunches call for lots of ingredients

By the time I ate, it was around 4 p.m., so I’m still not quite hungry for dinner even though it’s about 8! Currently munching on an apple with my newly purchased almond butter (I got raw instead of roasted this time and it’s still addicting). Perhaps I’ll have a few veggies or a yogurt to top that off before I venture out on the town with some friends… Let’s hope I can keep my paleo-streak going tonight! (and yes that includes no alcohol..) I’ll keep ya posted 🙂

2 responses »

  1. You can cook for ME next weekend!!!! At least one breakfast….I have everything you need!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

