RSS Feed

Day 14: Sunny Sunday

What a long weekend! It was both busy and relaxing at the same time, but I’m glad I got so much accomplished. In case you were wondering, I fared well on Saturday night and was able to enjoy myself without any (alcoholic) beverages in hand. It helped that I was DD– always a good excuse (not like “I’m going paleo this month” isn’t a good pick-up line…)

Today was filled with lots of social activities, more errands, and a new recipe! And of course, my camera was in-hand for all of the above, so I would have some fun pictures to post.

First stop: breakfast. With a fully stocked fridge from yesterday’s grocery visit and plenty of time, I couldn’t resist making an omelette. I don’t have the best omelette skills, which is why I usually stick to scrambled eggs. It may not have looked very pretty (which is why you won’t see any pics of the finished product), but you can trust me that it tasted delish 🙂

Cookin' up the fillings for my omelette: onions, pepper, mushrooms, spinach

Next stop: Enjoying beautiful springtime weather with Lia. We chose a spot outside by the National Cathedral, which is always so pretty to look at.

I don't think these are cherry blossoms, but they're pretty and pink!

The size and sheer beauty of this structure never ceases to amaze me

You know, just doing some cartwheels in front of the cathedral

After soaking up a little sun, it was time for book club! This month we read Water for Elephants. (sadly I only got up to about page 100, but I plan on finishing it…even though I now know what happens in the rest of the book!) Our host served an amazing spread of homemade circus food! Cracker jacks (they are following me), pigs in a blanket, and cake pops were on display. Luckily there were fresh strawberries which I helped myself to right away.

I couldn’t stay away from Whole Foods, since I had a few items that I could only purchase there. Lucky for me, I found all of them and am very excited to use them in the near future. The organic pumpkin and honey will hopefully make an appearance next time I bake paleo muffins. And as for the ghee, if you have no idea what it is… well join the club. I’m still learning about it and why so many paleo people love it. But for now just enjoy the mystery and I’ll let you know when I decide to use it.

Organic pumpkin, Really Raw Honey, & Ghee!

Don't tell hummus I've found someone to replace him!

I also picked up Baba Ghanouj at WF since I needed something to hold me over until dinner while I stopped at Sarah’s to say hello. It was the perfect afternoon snack, accompanied by some celery. It was super yummy and I definitely could have (and almost) ate half of the container in one sitting. Thanks for the recommendation Maggie!

I finally returned home around 5:30 to cook dinner. On the menu: Green Curry Chicken. But first, I decided to make Broccoli Slaw (from the bag I got at Trader Joe’s) so that it could marinate and be an easy go-to snack or side dish during the week. It took me a while to come up with a dressing that didn’t involve mayo or more than a dash of salt. But I did some tasting and guessing and decided that the following combination worked pretty well: Olive oil, spicy brown mustard, red wine vinegar, lemon juice, coconut milk, ground pepper, dill, dash of salt. At the end I mixed in some raisins for sweetness! I couldn’t tell you what quantities of each I used if my life depended on it. But it’s not an exact science. Just a taste preference! Hopefully it will taste even better tomorrow.

This would be a perfect side dish for a BBQ... now if only I had a grill

Now onto the main course. I got inspired to make the Green Curry Chicken from a recipe on the back of the coconut milk can– it was the Thai Kitchen brand, so the dish was thai-themed, but I modified it so that it would be slightly more Paleo. Read below from my modified recipe! It turned out pretty bangin’ if I don’t say so myself. I had plenty for leftovers, hooray! AND it was the first time I’ve cooked chicken that actually tasted juicy and had a unique flavor.

All the flavors (and colors) blending together

*Paleo Green Curry Chicken* (adapted from Thai Kitchen’s recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (light or regular) coconut milk
  • 1/2 -1 Tbsp. Green Curry Paste (depending on how spicy you like it)
  • (1-2 Tbsp fish sauce- which I omitted)
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized chunks
  • 1 tsp. brown sugar (or 1-2 Tbsp. if you are not Paleo)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable/chicken stock (organic, unsalted)
  • Vegetables: broccoli, orange bell pepper, white onion, and mushrooms. (This would work well with any veggies of your choice.)
Directions:
In large saucepan, simmer coconut milk with green curry paste over medium heat for 5 minutes. Add chicken, brown sugar, (fish sauce), stock, and vegetables. Simmer 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. (Note: I cooked the onions, mushrooms, peppers, and broccoli a little before I added them to the saucepan.) Garnish with fresh basil and serve hot in a bowl. You might even want a spoon to eat all the tasty sauce! Hope you enjoy 🙂

Happy Spring!

Leave a Reply

