RSS Feed

Day 15: The Halfway Point!!!

Wow, am I seriously halfway done with my Paleo Challenge already?? It feels like it’s going by so quickly. Yet, each day is a test of my self-control and determination. Yesterday was a LONG day and I didn’t have time to post last night, so I’ll just summarize with a list:

  • 7-8 a.m.: CrossFit. [Need a reminder explanation about this class?] I was the only one who showed up and as my luck would have it, the WOD, “Kelly,” was really freaking hard– 5 rounds for time of: 400 meter run, 30 box jumps (20″ box) and 30 wall balls (10# ball). It was the longest 36 minutes and 24 seconds of my life. Sore does not begin to describe how my body feels today. I’m going to have some bonding time with the foam roller later tonight.
  • 9:30 a.m.: Breakfast.  I am trying out some new Greek yogurts– this one is from Safeway, and much cheaper than Fage. Texture was good, taste was okay. Smashed berries = excellent addition.

    17 grams of protein in this tiny container!

  • 1 p.m. Lunch. My typical salad with a HB egg. Since I knew I was having a late dinner, I munched on some celery & baba ghanouj and a few more berries in the afternoon.
  • 8 p.m. Dinner. This was no ordinary dinner, as it was Lia’s birthday and at Founding Farmers, one of my favorite restaurants in DC! (It would be #1 if not for my love of sushi.)

Happy Birthday Lia 🙂

Founding Farmers: If you haven’t been, I urge you to go!! “Homemade and ‘scratch-made’ traditional American classics inspired by the heartland.” For me, this also meant that I would have no problem following Paleo, since everything down to their ketchup is homemade. Another reason why they are Paleo-friendly: “We believe that everyone benefits by knowing more about the sources of the food they eat.” While I had to avoid the delicious sandwiches and other grain-containing items on the menu, the Rotisserie Chicken looked delicious, and it was something I hadn’t tried yet. I ate all of the vegetables and got to take home about half of the chicken.

Rotisserie chicken in lemon-herb jus, with a side of roasted root vegetables and kale with cabbage, PEARS, and rosemary

Okay, it’s confession time: I had 1 glass of wine with dinner. And then the dessert menu came, and I was perfectly content on not having any. But my friends ordered the warm cookies, and I was offered a macaroon. This was a warm, gooey on the inside, crispy on the outside, homemade macaroon people. PLUS I figured if I’m going to cheat, I might as well pick a dessert that has coconut and egg whites in it 😉 Oh and I might have had a few bites of red velvet cake, too. The guilt lasted approximately 30 minutes, and then it passed. Really, in the grand scheme of things, not a big deal.

Trust me, it was worth it

What a Monday! Now that I am at the halfway point, many of you have been asking me how (or if) I will be incorporating Paleo into my lifestyle after the 30 day challenge is over. I definitely will be doing so in some form, so stay tuned for my thoughts about that. In the meantime, it’s lunchtime and I have a salad with rotisserie chicken leftovers waiting to be eaten 🙂

Leave a Reply

