RSS Feed

Day 17: Namaste…

Today was a yoga day for me… and boy did I need it. My legs are finally starting to feel normal again after Monday’s WOD. I read an interesting post recently: 6 Ways Yoga Helps CrossFit on the miDCity Yoga Blog. I started doing yoga during college, and have been hooked ever since. It would be nice to have more time for yoga in my schedule, but for now I am grateful to be able to go once a week. Downward dog = bliss.

This was taken during the crazy blizzard of 2010. Naturally, it made sense to do yoga while we were snowed in!

Time to tell you what I ate today… It was a nuts/fruit overload day. Mostly because there was a platter of brownies and cookies involved, and the only way to avoid it was to eat all the fruit in sight. Great solution! And I need to figure out a way to stop mindlessly eating nuts. Hmmm.

Breakfast: Mustard green & sweet onion frittata (cooked by the paleo chef!) With some strawberries, half an apple, and almonds (maybe a handful? or two?)

Love knowing where my food comes from: "Beautiful ungraded farm eggs supplied by the fabulous chickens at Its Only Natural Farms in Nanjemoy, MD"

Lunch: Salmon cake (also cooked by the chef) … I was SO excited about this and it did not disappoint at all. I am definitely going to have to make this for myself. Salmon is my favorite protein and if I could eat it every day I would. I also made my own guacamole (!!) by mashing up 1/2 an avocado with TJ’s fabulous fresh salsa. And I didn’t miss the salt!

Salad with a side of (my) guacamole and (chef Kwons) salmon cake -- loving the natural (sun)light!

The afternoon was when the fruit consumption hit an all-time high. But, like I said, it was way better than eating the cookies and brownies. Interestingly enough, it wasn’t as hard to resist as it would have been 2 weeks ago. Progress!?

Dinner: Carolina BBQ Pulled Pork with Red Russian Kale and Green Cabbage Slaw (obviously chef-prepared).. I only ate a few bites of the pork.. and I was surprised I really liked the taste. I’m still not 100% sure my body likes when I feed it red meat, so I’m taking it slow. I froze the remaining pork and will hopefully get around to eating some next week. I also had a small piece of chicken (will share the rest of that when I eat it for dinner tomorrow) and the rest of my broccoli slaw. Post-dinner munchy cravings hit so I went for half an apple with almond butter, coconut, and (more) almonds! I spent extra time in the kitchen roasting veggies that I can eat tomorrow and Friday and I froze some for next week too! Soo much preparation but it does pay off.

That’s all for tonight! Now go do some yoga.. *Ommm*

2 responses »

  1. I am off to lunchtime yoga today and looking forward to taking a class with you this weekend.

    Reply
  2. baha that picture of you guys doing yoga in the kitchen makes me chuckle. Also, your lunch looks yummy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

