RSS Feed

Day 20: Score!

It was a busy Saturday, so I have many updates and things to share! And since photos are more fun than writing…

Breakfast: scrambled eggs with tomato and squash, zucchini, and leek (pre-cooked by madre) / Not pictured: fruit & nuts

After a successful shopping outing with my mom and brother, it was time for an at-home CrossFit(ish) workout! I was hoping to be able to get outside but the rain was persistent. Not to worry, I had been saving up ideas for an indoor, equipment-less workout and this was a perfect chance to try it out! And I was ecstatic when my brother decided to join me 😀

No-frills circuit: 5 Rounds for Time-

  • 20 air squats
  • 10 push-ups
  • 20 sit-ups
  • 10 standing lunges
  • 5 burpees

Momski decided this needed to be documented...

My (not so) little bro finished in 12:45 and I finished in 13:23! I think it was a pretty good workout to get my heart rate up and I’d definitely do it again if I was stuck in a hotel or something.

The workout was followed by a tasty lunch

Not-my-ordinary-lunch-salad: arugula and mixed greens with (fresh) roasted red pepper, avocado, tomatoes, and sliced chicken

Mom's homemade baba ghanoush! (better than store-bought... duh!)

After a haircut and some afternoon errands, it was dinner time!

I decided to make something I’ve been reading about in the paleo-sphere for a while: cauliflower mash! 

I started by steaming an entire head of cauliflower, cut into smaller pieces..

..I also roasted a few cloves of garlic in the oven..

... and then combined the cauliflower and garlic with some olive oil (2 Tbsp), coconut milk (1 Tbsp), pepper, and a little salt in the Cuisinart!

My mom cooked up an entire chicken! Soooo yummy...

.. with a side of asparagus

Almost looks like regular mashed potatoes, eh?

Personally, I thought the cauliflower mash was deeelicious. However, the mashed potato-fanatic (my brother) thought it tasted like gross, mushy cauliflower. Guess you can’t please ’em all!

And now I’ve just been enjoying watching my awesome Yankees 🙂

A-rod hits his 22nd career grand slam, bringing the Yankees lead to 13-3!

in case you missed it, they ended up kicking Oriole butt, winning 15-3!

I’m heading back to DC tomorrow afternoon, but with plenty of time for some yoga and brunch in the morning. My mom started cutting up fresh fruit for a fruit salad, and I’ve already helped myself to a few servings of that.. nom nom. Hope you’re all having a fab weekend and have a Happy Easter (if you’re celebrating) tomorrow! (Will someone please eat a chocolate bunny for me??)

PS. Even though the main reason I write this blog is to track my fitness/foodstuffs, it never hurts to know when you peeps are readin! I love all the comments so keep ’em coming! 🙂

One response »

  1. I really enjoyed the cauliflower mash…I think it was a great replacement for potatoes (and your Bro got the noodle kugel, so he did not miss his usual potatoes much)…delicious!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

