RSS Feed

The Foodie Goes to Florida

Greetings from Orlando, FL! I arrived here on Thursday night for my cousin’s graduation from UCF. She surprised me at my graduation last year, so I wanted to do the same for her. We are only 5 months apart in age, but I always wished we lived closer!

The lovely graduate - Congrats! 🙂

This was my first “vacation” that I was going to attempt to keep up my semi-paleo lifestyle. Between the mediocre hotel breakfast and celebrations with family, I knew it wouldn’t be easy. Yesterday and today I went to the mini hotel fitness center in the morning for short workouts, since I knew I’d be doing a lot of sitting (during the 3 hour ceremony!) and eating. So far, I have managed to eat Paleo for about 60% of the time. Yesterday’s consumption consisted of a veggie omlette, some fruit, some non-Paleo snacks that I won’t call out by name, and then sushi for the post-graduation dinner. I find that when I start out my day eating Paleo, I’m less likely to choose non-Paleo options later. Still, I couldn’t resist the sushi.

Today’s hotel breakfast didn’t leave me many options, but I went for a (fake-tasting) hard-boiled egg and some fruit, then we headed to Aquatica, SeaWorld’s water park! I didn’t have many expectations for the park food, but I was able to find a pretty good salad with grilled chicken, supplemented with some apple and nuts for lunch. Dinner tonight is at an Italian restaurant, so I’m anticipating my Paleo streak will probably be broken at some point, but I’m looking forward to a tasty, authentic meal.

I didn’t bring many snacks on the trip, since I’m not very good at rationing these things, but I saved my one Larabar until today, and it was the perfect afternoon snack before our late dinner! The Apple Pie flavor is technically Paleo (the 18g of sugar are all natural), since the only ingredients are dates, almonds, unsweetened almonds, walnuts, rasins, and cinnamon. Yum!

Larabar: The perfect paleo travel snack

Leave a Reply

