RSS Feed

Lazy Saturdays Call for… (Paleo) Pancakes!

I can’t remember the last time I slept past 10 AM on a Saturday– it may not sound late to you but it is late for me! Not to mention I have been up before 6 every day this week. So 11 hours of sleep felt glorious. I had nowhere to be and loved the feeling of being able to laze around and make breakfast… last night I had a craving for pancakes and since I already had the ingredients for paleo pancakes, it seemed like a no-brainer. I looked up a recipe to use as a starting point- also happen to love the blog I found it on!

The recipe called for 1/2 cup almond flour, 2 eggs, 1 banana, vanilla extract, and cinnamon. I combined all the ingredients in a mixing bowl and heated up some coconut oil in the frying pan. Thanks roomie for reminding me to grab my camera!! (And for flipping the pancakes gracefully)

I was skeptical of the liquidy batter at first

... but once we put it on the pan, it cooked (and looked) almost like regular pancakes!

Do these pancakes look very orange to you?

We decided to get creative for the next few… and added pumpkin puree to the mix! It turned the pancakes a beautiful color and made them SO tasty. Adela recommended adding some nutmeg, and then also added blueberries to hers!

Finished product! Served with fresh berries and banana

The pancakes were so moist and actually pretty sweet! But that didn’t stop us from adding a few drops of pure amber maple syrup on top 🙂  We had some leftover batter and decided to make one last, large pancake with some peanut butter chips! This tasted awesome with the pumpkin.

Pumpkin-peanut buttery goodness.

So, Saturday brunch was a success! I think we’ll definitely be doing this again in the near future. Who says you need to wait until Sunday to go all out for brunch? 🙂 Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

