RSS Feed

work it make it do it makes us harder better faster stronger.

Yesterday was the Capitol CrossFit(ish) Challenge, sponsored by CrossFit Balance, and organized by a member of the gym who hosted the event at his house in Capitol Hill in honor of his birthday! After much hesitation and some persuasion from our former coach, Maggie, I decided to partake along with 2 of my CF girlies.

Sam, Becky and I before getting started

This was by no means a typical CrossFit competition, but it did incorporate various strength and endurance events. Event #1 was a 1-minute barbell complex. Goal: get the barbell from ground to overhead as many times as possible, without putting the bar down. We had to go one at a time (minor freakout) since there was limited space, and I had to go first (major freakout) but it ended up being super cool having everyone cheering for you.

Thaaat's me! sun in eyes = bonus challenge.

Becky making a 60# bar look light

Sam also lookin good!

Most of the men lifted 85% of their bodyweight! That's Graham, gym owner and my coach

On-lookers / supporters / cheerleaders

Event #2 was a crazy obstacle course in the front and backyards, involving scaling an 8-foot wall, running with 30 and 50 lb. sandbags, and flipping a huge tire. There was a 3-minute cap on this, thank. goodness.

Eyeing the tire and wondering how much it weighs...

Time to flip some tires!

For Event #3, we headed to Lower Senate park, a cool space down past the US Capitol. I wasn’t even aware this area existed! It was so cool to be out in public just CrossFitting in front of random people. We did get a few crazy looks but for the most part it was awesome.

A beautiful view of the Capitol during a grueling workout

View of the ladies across the pond, mid-pushup

And to finish off the day... 31 birthday burpees!

Attempting a jumping picture to celebrate surviving the challenge... Instead we ended up looking like we were practicing our squats. Fitting, I think ๐Ÿ™‚

All in all, a great day. This truly reinforced for me the awesome community that CrossFit brings about. Every single person was so encouraging. It’s a neat thing that complete strangers want to see you succeed and push you to give your best.ย There is just so much positive energy in CrossFit, which is probably why it’s so addictive. Hopefully this was only the first of many competitions I will partake in ๐Ÿ™‚


6 responses »

  1. Very cool and looks like fun but I would never ever be able do it- i will stick to my bike!

    Reply
  2. Oh my goodness! I am so proud of you, Biggie! But, I am going to have to agree with your Mom… I would never be able to do that. I’ll stick to my gym routine for now. haha. Glad you had a fun weekend!

    Reply
  3. You never know what you are capable of until you try ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  4. I know Vicki and Lia could do it… ๐Ÿ™‚ The hardest part is walking through the door for the first time.

    You guys should watch these two videos. The first is of all sorts of women doing crossfit, the second is of a story of a woman I know personally starting her journey in to crossfit 70 pounds heavier than she is now… not to mention, she is much happier now!

    http://crossfitrelentless.com/2010/02/brenda-glidden-in-her-own-words-2/

    Awesome job to the three of you for competing! I love the pictures and updates… miss you ladies. Keep kicking butt! jaclyn, if Vickie and Lia don’t see this post, you should pass them along those links!

    Reply
  5. Get it, girl.

    Reply
  6. I want pictures of us in the cutest work out outfits flipping tires. That is a small dream of mine.

    The nightmare would be flipping it more than once and jumping through it, but we’ve already done that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

